New Exhibition Celebrates Architects and Craftsmen of Fulham Palace

Meet the people who created our local historic landmark

Fulham Palace's winter exhibition explore the lives of the different architects who have worked at the site, creating buildings which are a fascinating mixture of architectural styles which have developed over the centuries.

Stiff Leadbetter, the first known architect to work at the Palace, remodelled the building in the fashionable Strawberry Hill style in the 1760s for Bishop Terrick.

By 1818 the Palace had been altered extensively once more, this time for Bishop Howley for Samuel Pepys Cockerell. In 1866 Bishop Tait commissioned William Butterfield to design the existing Gothic Revival Chapel.

The displays will look at the different bishops and their architects who have transformed the Palace over the centuries, along with the different crafts used to embellish the building such as stained glass, plasterwork, mosaic and ceramic tiles.

Mosaic at Fulham Palace

The exhibition is free to enter and will be open during regular Museum opening hours until 20 April 2017.

December 30, 2016